Seven Inches of Soul and Disco by @Decknologist

This is a one hour mix of some of my favourite 7″ soul & disco singles. There is brand new stuff, some re-issues, stone cold classics and the odd hidden gem. Sit back and enjoy…

Seven inches of soul and disco

Tracklistings:

  1. Adrian Younge Pres. Venice Dawn – Turn Down The Sound [Kindred Spirits/Poetics Records] A brand new record with a modern soul sound. Keep a keen eye out for his Venice Dawn project.
  2. Wendy Rene – After Laughter (Comes Tears) [Light In The Attic] An old soul classic famously sampled by the Wu-Tang Clan on Tearz from the Enter The 36 Chambers LP. The original commands very high prices but was reissued last year on Light In The Attic records. Big thanks to Jumbo Records for sorting me out with this one.
  3. Freda Payne – Easiest Way To Fall [Invictus] Another well known soul record. Again heavily sampled by numerous hip hop artists on account of the excellent break-beat at the beginning of the track.
  4. Inner Life – Caught Up In A One Night Love Affair [Prelude Records] Some classic disco business with the lovely Jocelyn Brown on the vocals. Well known for her solo work as well as for appearing on numerous Masters At Work and Nu Yorican Soul records.
  5. The Fatback Band – Goin’ To See My Baby [BBE] A funky little number and one that’s definitely underestimated. Pure dancefloor magic.
  6. The Haggis Horns feat. Nia Saw – Cockroach Grind [First Word Records] A bit of local action from the Haggis Horns. A stomping record from a couple of years ago released on First Word Records out of Leeds.
  7. Willie Henderson – Gangster Boogie Bump [Pye International] I picked this up in a charity shop many years ago. I don’t suppose it’s rare but you never hear anyone play it. It has been a favourite of mine ever since I first heard it.
  8. Heatwave – Slip Your Disc To This [GTO] Another charity shop find. Heatwave at their best. The last time I heard this was on a Joey Negro mix. Nuff said.
  9. Barry White – You See The Trouble With Me [20th Century Records]Thanks to the house remix of this (quite) a few years back everyone knows it. I picked my copy up in Huddersfield a few months ago on a trip to Vinyl Tap.
  10. James Brown – Get Up Offa That Thing [Polydor] Classic breaks, classic horns. There had to be some James Brown in here somewhere.
  11. Ike & Tina Turner – Nutbush City Limits [United Artists Records] This was a favourite from my childhood. Listening back now I hear hard beats and awesome fuzz guitar. Ike & Tina at the top of their game.
  12. Otis Reading – My Sweet Lorene [Stax] This is on the b-side of Sitting On The Dock Of The Bay. I know which one is a better party tune. You could play this at a Northern Soul party and it would tear the place up.
  13. Black Ivory – I Keep Asking You Questions [BBE] Another re-issue. A little known classic from Black Ivory. Up-tempo and packing some great hooks. A record I get a kick out of playing out as it always gets a great reaction.
  14. Fontella Bass – Rescue Me [Chess] A party classic. I also play this out a lot. Such a shame she passed last year. A song I remember from my childhood that still sounds as good today as the first time I heard it.
  15. Sly & The Family Stone – Dance To The Music [Epic] There are some really great covers of this track but you still can’t beat the hard drum funk of the original. You do what it says on the tin.
  16. Lee Moses – Time And Place [Front Page] This record was a recent Christmas present. It has a great break and is not too well known. A little crackly in places but suitably soulful. It’s definitely on a Curtis Mayfield vibe.
  17. The Temptations – Papa Was A Rolling Stone (Instrumental) [Tamla Motown] I didn’t mean to play the instrumental version which appears on the b-side of the record but listening back I’m glad I did. A bit of a John Peel moment but the mix is all the better for it. I blame the black sheep ale.
  18. Aloe Blacc – Femme Fatale [Stones Throw Records] A cover of the Velvet Underground classic. I had to sneak a Stones Throw track into the mix somewhere and here it is. One of the greatest modern soul artists on the scene today.

I hope that you have enjoyed my selection. It’s more radio2 than an actual mix but rest assured I mixed it live and unrehearsed using only seven inch singles and a pair of Technics turntables. I make no apologies for the snap, crackle and pop because that’s real records for you. The way it’s supposed to be.

Follow @Decknologist and find more of his mixes  at www.soundcloud.com/decknologist

Leave a Reply

