Before I go to Sleep – MedusaLBC by @LeedsBookClub

The Horsforth branch of Leeds Book Club meet at Medusa Bar every second Wednesday from 7.30pm. MedusaLBC has recently read the very creepy ‘Before I go to sleep’ by S J Watson. You can read the review (which contains spoilers) here on Leeds Book Club blog.

Before I go to Sleep by LeedsBookClub

To celebrate it – and as our first MedusaLBC playlist – I’ve comprised tracks from the perspective of the primary antagonist – whoever that person might be!!! I hope that you enjoy!

Tracklistings:

01 – Flagpole Sitta – Harvey Danger

(as a YouTube video as not available on Spotify)

More to set the tone of the playlist than a reference to the killers innermost thoughts. I first heard this song during Distubing Behaviour ( Meet the musical little creatures that hide among the flowers) and have loved it – particularly the bridge – ever since. 

Paranoia Paranoia Everybody’s coming to get you…

02 – #1 Crush – Garbage

One from the Romeo + Juliet soundtrack. This is probably the first song that started my obsession with stalker songs. It’s just so not how you ever actually want someone to feel for you. Passionate? Yes. Stalker? Certainly.

See your face every place that I walk in
Hear your voice every time I am talking
You will believe in me
And I will never be ignored

03 – I will possess your heart – Death Cab for Cuties

*The* obsessive anthem. What makes it worse is that the narrator – the stalker – is oblivious to it. They genuinely think that it’s mere curiosity as opposed to creepy and weird.

You reject my… advances… and desperate pleas…
I won’t let you… let me down… so easily.
So easily.

04 – Possession – Sarah McLachlan

All the lyrics of this song apparently come from letters that an obsessive fan wrote to Sarah McLachlan. He actually started legal proceedings claiming ownership of the words but committed suicide before anything progressed. Too too weird.

and I would be the one
to hold you down
kiss you so hard
I’ll take your breath away
and after, I’d wipe away the tears
just close your eyes dear

05 – Goodnight and go – Imogen Heap

Just listen to it. Those lyrics are just…*shudder*

You’ve got your headphones on and you’re dancing
Got lucky, beautiful shot
You’re taking everything off
Watch the curtains, wide open
And you fall in the same routine
Flicking through the TV
Relaxed and reclining
And you think you’re alone

06 – It’s warmer in the basement OR You belong to me – Cobra Starship

In the first track, the song is from the perspective of a man who has just kidnapped someone. However, I couldn’t find it on spotify so I’ve picked the second one. Think the name says it all.

07 – Got Jealous – Hurt

Taking on both sides of the argument, this song at once demonstrates both passive and aggressive obsessive tendencies resulting in a wonderful mess of emotions.

If I don’t get outta here, I’m gonna kill someone
I’ve gotta single fear; I think someone will come
Just to put me away, into a cage

Where I never would see the sun 

08 – Hellfire – Disney’s Hunchback of Notre Dame

A huge Disney fan, the second part of this song – Hellfire – jumped to mind when I started this playlist.

Now gypsy, it’s your turn
Choose me or
Your pyre
Be mine or you will burn

09 – You won’t see me – The Beatles

I’m still sulking that Run for your life wasn’t available. I’d set my heart on it.

10 – Caleb Meyer – Gillian Welch (Spotify Jessica Hains, Mick Kaiser)

Just desserts I think. Though I know the Gillian Welch version best; I really like the track that I found on Spotify. It’s a much more folk-y song though, perhaps not as haunting.

Caleb Meyer, your ghost is gonna
wear them rattlin’ chains.
but when I go to sleep at night,
Don’t you call my name

Follow @LeedsBookClub and visit the blog www.leedsbookclub.com with details on how to join!

Leave a Reply

