Mixtape: Helen’s Tape by @isfromupnorth

‘Helen’s Tape’ and ‘NOW 11’ were my first ever tapes.

Helen's Tape and NOW 11

My Aunt gave them to me and said ‘Play them really loudly to annoy your father’ πŸ˜€

My Aunt is my Mum’s youngest sister and has always been in to 80’s and rock music and she influenced my taste, so these tapes mean a lot to me. They are both from 1988, and if I could get them on cd now I would be amazed! Here’s Helen’s Tape recreated on Spotify:

Tracklistings:

Side A

  1. T’Pau – China In Your Hand
  2. Heart – Alone
  3. Kiss – Crazy Crazy Nights
  4. Billy Idol – Mony Mony
  5. Whitesnake – Here I Go Again
  6. The Alarm – Rain In The Summertime
  7. Pet Shop Boys – Rent
  8. The Communards – Never Can Say Goodbye
  9. Wet Wet Wet – Sweet Little Mystery
  10. Curiosity Killed The Cat – Misfit
  11. Los Lobos – La Bamba
  12. Fat Boys – Wipeout

Side B

  1. Grandmaster Flash & Melle Mel – White Lines (Don’t Do It)
  2. Belinda Carlisle – Heaven Is a Place On Earth
  3. Climie Fisher – Rise To The Occasion
  4. Nina Simone – My Baby Just Cares For Me
  5. The Housemartins – Build
  6. Level 42 – It’s Over
  7. ABC – When Smokey Sings
  8. Squeeze – Hourglass
  9. The Pogues Featuring Kirsty MacColl – Fairytale Of New York

Follow @isfromupnorth and read her blog hellofrommetoyou.wordpress.com

One thought on “Mixtape: Helen’s Tape by @isfromupnorth

Leave a Reply

