My Northern Ballet curtain call by @PreRaphaeliteR

This Friday (25 May 2012) – exactly two years to the day that I joined – I leave my role at Northern Ballet to embark on the next exciting chapter of my professional life at Leeds Grand Theatre.  It’s been a true honour to work for this amazing Company and this is my musical homage to my time here.

I watched Northern Ballet’s ‘Wuthering Heights’ in Edinburgh the week I sent in my application form for the job, solemnly swearing never to go to another one of their (albeit beloved) performances if I didn’t at least get an interview!  The rest (thankfully) is history.

‘Are we human, or are we dancer’ – beyond a shadow of a doubt Northern Ballet’s dancers are superhuman in my eyes (and so bloomin’ lovely to boot) and the awe I felt on my first day when my ‘job’ was to watch Company class will never leave me.

‘Swan Lake’ was one of the first productions I worked on and I’ve been so fortunate to have been here for two World Premières –  ‘Cleopatra’, with music composed by the lovely Claude-Michele Schönberg, and ‘Beauty & the Beast’.

An undeniable highlight was seeing dancer Kenneth Tindall turn choreographer with his insanely beautiful and moving ‘Project#1’ set to Dinah Washington’s haunting lyrics.

Northern Ballet’s Gershwin celebration, ‘I Got Rhythm’, runs during this, my final week, at Leeds Grand Theatre where the first production I work on will be ‘Dirty Dancing’.  Thank you Northern Ballet – my last song says it all.

*Takes bow and exits stage left*

YouTube Playlist

Tracklistings:

  1. ‘Wuthering Heights’ – Kate Bush
  2. ‘Human’ – The Killers
  3. ‘Tiny Dancer’ – Elton John‘
  4. ‘Black Swan Song’ – Athlete
  5. ‘On My Own’ – from Les Misérables
  6. ‘Walk Like An Egyptian’ – The Bangles
  7. ‘The Beast’ – Concrete Blonde
  8. ‘This Bitter Earth’ – Dinah Washington
  9. ‘Summertime’ – George Gershwin
  10. ‘(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life’ – Bill Medley & Jennifer Warnes

Follow @PreRaphaeliteR

Leave a Reply

