People of Leeds weeks 1-10 by @PeopleOfLeeds

We are the People of Leeds. All kinds of people, from all over Leeds, coming together on one Twitter account.

Based on the amazing @sweden Twitter account, Leeds has it’s own Location Curation project. Each Monday a new person will take the account for a week, bringing you a unique snapshot of living, working and playing in Leeds.

Here’s a playlist by the first ten people to take part. These songs represent their personal experiences as People of Leeds.

YouTube playlist

Tracklistings:

Week One – Kirsty of Leeds @gazpachodragon – Life In a Northern Town by Dream Academy

I chose this as the founder of PoL as well as the first curator. The idea is to show people what life is *really* like in Leeds, not just the sparking clogs and ex-steelworks whippet lovers that people think we are. The world-music style of the song also reflects that during my week as PoL I had interactions with people from all over the world who were interested in our little patch of England.

Week Two – Wendy of Leeds @Wandapops Unbelievable by EMF

I wanted to make my week as PoL different to the Visit Leeds Twitter account I manage, but I wasn’t sure how I could, so I kind of made it up as I went along. Literally. Leeds invented making things up you know! I also chose this song to represent my week because it was an unbelievably good experience! We have an amazing Twitter community in Leeds and it was wonderful to extend this even further with PoL. I would highly recommend everyone giving it a go- it introduced me to some fabulous people and was such good fun I didn’t want it to stop. Luckily I realised that it’s just as much fun to follow everyone else’s week, and I still exist as Wendy of Leeds, just on different Twitter accounts 🙂

Week Three – Ian of Leeds @qualitylobster – Good Morning Britain by Aztec Camera

… penned by the lovely Roddy Frame and featuring Mick Jones doing his snarly Mick Jonesy thing. Why? Well it was a protest song about how fucked up the eighties were with that hope that everything could be that little bit better if we just all tried to get on. I was sitting in a pub as PoL (quelle surprise) when it came on and I was struck by the realisation that:  1)      Nothing much has changed. As a society we’re still fucked: racial mistrust, sectarian violence, class division, the works BUT… 2)      There are still people reaching out to one another. Across the country. Across the world.  That’s us, kids.

Week Four – Avid Reader of Leeds @leedsbookclub Blister in the Sun by Violent Femmes

It’s a catchy sort of upbeat mess, which seems to express how I feel about PoL. I was so worried beforehand but it soon felt normal – me on steroids!

Week Five – Phil of Leeds @monkeyson Nice Weather For Ducks by Lemon Jelly

Chosen for the ducks that woke me up every morning with their quacking! I couldn’t find a song about Greggs, except the Greggs charity Christmas song, which doesn’t mention them at all and isn’t very good. The Greggs walking tour was what I remember from my PoL week more than anything. There were so many – and another is opening near me soon!

Week Six – Declan of Leeds @deccerss Price Tag by Jessie J ft. BoB

The reason I’ve picked this song is that people following PoL for my week were  following a boy on a mighty fine budget. I proved that oh boy you can have fun with no money. Also Jessie is WELL FIT!

Week Seven – Georgia of Leeds @georgiahalston We Are Going To Be Friends by The White Stripes

I think my favourite part about being a person of Leeds was that their were no boundaries – people felt like they could get in touch who ever they were. It’s rare to get that in the normal world of Twitter. People who might not necessarily ever get in touch with you normally, feel completely free to because of the moniker- People Of Leeds. I spoke to and consequently met so many fun and cool people through the project I may not have met otherwise and I think not only the lyrics but the tome of my chosen song really fits in to how welcomed and wanted I felt as the Person Of Leeds.

Week Eight – Rowena of Leeds @yelpleeds The Bomb by The Bucketheads

I think mine has to be ‘The Bomb’ by The Bucketheads, being as I was evicted from my dentist appoinTment due to their discovery of a WWII bomb behind the practice that week! Not sure anything else will sum it up quite so well. Plus the song’s rockin’!

Week Nine – Katie of Leeds @katie_buffalo 6’1″ by Liz Phair

During the week I was Person of Leeds, I was left suddenly and unexpectedly unemployed (through no fault of my own, I might add – I was very good at my job) . It was incredibly difficult – I was feeling pretty damn persecuted and hard-done-by, but there was quite literally nothing I could do without looking bitter/crazy/unemployable, so I just kept quiet and felt like shit until I was able to feel better. Songs like this helped.

Week Ten – Tom of Leeds @tdroza Wake up Boo! by The Boo Radleys

I thought of this song as I set off on my walk to work on my first PoL day. It was bright sunshine and surprisingly warm for the time of year so I took a short detour along the canal and tweeted a pic of the view. Even in the middle of Leeds it’s easy to escape the rush hour madness and a change in the weather along with a decent feel good tune can overcome the Monday morning blues!

Follow @peopleofleeds Want to get involved? peopleofleeds.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

