Queer as Folk by @ArtemisFoul1812

My self-indulgent playlist is comprised of songs that make me embrace the my queerness. A lot on here is by queer artists, some is not. Much of it is a camp as hell, some is not. A few tracks are on here merely cos I had a big crush on the singer.

YouTube playlist

Tracklistings:

1. Freddie Mercury – Living On My Own

This is the 1993 No More Brothers mix of the song originally recorded in 1984. The lyrics are actually pretty depressing but it’s jazzed up and camped up to high heaven.

2. Garbage – I’m Only Happy When It Rains

As a 14/15 year old I had a bit of a crush on Shirley Manson. As a teen I was prone to a bit of melodramatic self-loathing (especially about being gay) so loved revelling in the misery of this song.

3. Placebo – Nancy Boy

Placebo were awesome weren’t they, fronted by a bi fella with a penchant for eyeliner. As a queer teen, hearing a song that mentioned lube was just mindblowingly awesome!

4. Erasure – Always

This song is as camp as hell. I love it! Need I say more (WARNING: play this track in my presence and I won’t be able to stop singing it for the rest of the day)

5. Sonique – It Feels So Good

This was the soundtrack to my first ventures to a gay club (imaginatively called ‘The Club’ in Stoke on Trent). My friends and I listened to this on repeat about 10 times before we’d go out.

6. Dana International – Diva

Yes, it’s cheesy. Yes, it’s Eurovision. But yes, it was also groundbreaking and magnificent.

7. Skunk Anansie – I Can Dream

Singer Skin was bold, funky, sexy and queer. Skunk Anansie rocked my late teen years.

8. Texas – Say What You Want

Oh my. I had the biggest crush on Sharleen Spiteri in this video. I both wanted to be her, and wanted to be with her!

9. Frankie Goes to Hollywood – Relax (uncensored)

Everyone loves a song that gets banned, don’t they? Still a classic.

10. Pet Shop Boys – It’s A Sin

Beautifully melodramatic, guilt ridden synthpop. Ever a favourite of mine.

Follow @ArtemisFoul1812

Leave a Reply

