Leeds by @Hans_Bratwurst

I found this playlist really easy to make. I’ve been compiling my own Leeds themed playlist mentally for years. I always make a note of any song I hear which mentions Leeds in the lyrics.

This started when I was in New York about 10 years ago looking in a little record shop when I came across an album called ‘Yes New York’. It was a charity album showcasing local New York bands, there was a song on there called ‘Ballad of a sin Eater’ by Ted Leo and The Pharmacists which mentions Leeds in the lyrics. I thought this was amazing, finding a CD with a New York Indie band mentioning my home town.

Since then I have become a bit obsessed by songs mentioning Leeds in the lyrics. I couldn’t find the Ted Leo and The Pharmacists song on Spotify sadly for my #LeedsPlaylist and could only get a bad quality live version on Youtube. So on my Spotify playlist this song is replaced by a not very good song called ‘Leeds’ by The Indigo Girls. Every song apart from one mentions Leeds in the lyrics. Bonus points for spotting them all! This playlist combines my two of my two biggest loves, Leeds and Music.

Listen on Spotify or as a YouTube playlist

Tracklistings:

1. ‘Court Report’  Little man Tate

2. ‘I Predict a Riot’ Kaiser Chiefs

3. ‘Leeds’ Indigo Girls (or ‘Ballad of a Sin Eater’ Ted Leo And The Pharmacists on YouTube)

4. ‘Panic’ The Smiths

5. ‘My British Tour Diary’ Of Montreal

6. ‘Martell’ The Cribs

7. ‘Poor Paddy’ The Pogues

8. ‘Looking For Linda’ Hue And Cry

9. ‘Drip Drip Drip’ Chumbawumba

10. ‘Northern Industrial Town’ Billy Bragg

Follow @Hans_Bratwurst

One thought on “Leeds by @Hans_Bratwurst

Leave a Reply

