Buskers of Leeds by @pinkyvonne

I flipping love buskers. They brighten up my lunchtimes and us Leeds folk are very lucky as the standard is high. Every song on this playlist is a song I have heard whilst galavanting around on me lunch (usually en route to get my pound shop fix). Doesn’t matter what mood I’m in, it is impossible for it not to be lifted by someone belting out Shirley Bassey as I stomp back to the office, or to raise a smile upon hearing a brass version of Abba. I’ve also included a real life Leeds busker done good Tristan Mackay on here too.

I love all these songs bar that Ray LaMontagne one – although the busker’s version was very good. I’ve included the Tears for Fears version of Mad World as I can’t bear that awful Gary whatshisface one. Originally Don’t Look Back In Anger was on here as well (for a long while all I heard on my lunch breaks was Oasis and I chose to include this one as it’s one of my faves) but stooooooopid Oasis aren’t available on spotify. Luckily the wonderful @LianneMarieB saved the playlist by tweeting about a fab busker version of Dancing in the Dark on deadline day and let’s face it, who doesn’t like a bit of Bruce?!?

So let’s celebrate the oft taken for granted Leeds busker – the city wouldn’t be the same without them!

Listen on Spotify

Tracklistings:

  1. Lean on Me – Bill Withers
  2. Big Spender – Shirley Bassey
  3. Dancing in the Dark – The Boss
  4. It’s So Easy – Buddy Holly
  5. Suspicious Minds – Elvis Presley
  6. The Winner Takes it All – Abba
  7. Trouble – Ray LaMontagne
  8. Mad World – Tears for Fears
  9. Hoochie Coochie Man – Muddy Waters
  10. Lonely All By Myself – Tristan Mackay

Follow @pinkyvonne

One thought on “Buskers of Leeds by @pinkyvonne

Leave a Reply

