Gig Etiquette by @RichardHiggins2

Self explanatory really. This stems from the growing annoyance of ignorant rude people yapping at gigs, ruining it for others. We’ve all done it, even me and I’m perfect but that doesn’t excuse it.

Either it’s on the increase or I’m just growing more aware of it- although it seems I’m not alone in suffering bad gig experiences due to the selfishness of others. (Read Richard’s lively post about it on the wonderful Culture Vulture blog here)

This a (hopefully) humorous summation of those feelings. The last track isn’t a serious declaration of intent either…..although if I go to just one more gig marred by people talking, I might not be responsible for my actions…! (we could do with S*M*A*S*H right now…..change the lyrics for Simon Cowell/Piers Morgan/Cameron/Katie Price/Louis Walsh/Murdoch etc, etc)

I could have opted for ‘A Little Less Conversation’ but I hate the record and Elvis…

YouTube playlist

Tracklistings:

1) Hush- Deep Purple
2) Listen to the Band- The Monkees
3) Noise Annoys- Buzzcocks
4) Quiet -Ian Dury and The Blockheads
5) Shut Up- Madness
6) Silence is Golden- The Tremeloes
7) Sound of the Crowd- Human League
8) Our Lips Are Sealed- Fun Boy 3
9) Sound of Silence-Simon and Garfunkel
10) I want to kill somebody- S*M*A*S*H

Follow @richardhiggins2

One thought on “Gig Etiquette by @RichardHiggins2

  1. I couldn’t agree more! My worst experience was the dirty look I got from a woman I bounced into inadvertently whilst dancing to my favourites British Sea Power who were supporting the Manics at the Academy. Well she was busy texting and chatting to her friends – obviously far more important. I was so pissed off with the rude Manics fans that I didn’t stick around to see their set.

Leave a Reply

