Disco in the Pound Shop by @pinkyvonne

I am a frequent visitor to Poundworld on Kirkgate in Leeds and have a very set weekly routine which involves me visiting on a Monday lunchtime to get my weekly supply of diet coke and quavers. I noticed that every time I go in, there is always a great song playing. Not just some of the time but every time!

One time they played Voice of the Beehive, an American band from the 90s whose lyrics me and my sister poured over til we’d learnt every one. I suspect this was mainly due to the fact they had two lead singers, one dark and one light haired, JUST LIKE US (a similar thing happened when Alisha’s Attic appeared). Anyway, I’d never even heard them play on the radio and I loved the nostalgia trip as I’d completely forgotten they ever existed!   I started to document the songs sporadically on twitter when I remembered and so when Wandapops announced she was starting #Leedsplaylist I was like brilliant, I’ve got half of mine already! I’d be very interested to know whether others find themselves dancing when visiting the pound shop. It has to be the one on Kirkgate though, for scientific reasons innit. Feel free to tweet me @pinkyvonne if you do!

Listen on Spotify

Tracklistings:

  1. Labour of Love – Hue and Cry
  2. Me, Myself and I – De La Soul
  3. I Think I Love You – Voice of the Beehive
  4. Together Forever – Rick Astley
  5. I Feel For You – Chaka Khan
  6. Let’s Dance – David Bowie
  7. Sussudio – Phil Collins
  8. Oblivious – Aztec Camera
  9. Buffalo Stance – Neneh Cherry
  10. Simply Irresistible – Robert Palmer

Follow @pinkyvonne

Leave a Reply

