Wanna be startin’ somethin’

As with many things these days, this all came about after a conversation on Twitter.

I love interacting with people about the music they are #NowPlaying, and my casual request for us all to share playlists has developed into this.

I’m by no means the first to have this idea, but I hope this blog will be able to showcase specifically the tastes of people in Leeds – the music we listen to, the places we go, the things we all get up to. Perhaps Leeds will appear a bigger place because of the variety of music we all enjoy. Perhaps it will seem smaller as you find  out that person you tweeted once seems to have the exact same music taste as you.

As I’m dying for you to hear them as soon as possible, I’ll be posting all the playlists I’ve received throughout the month of February. After that I’ll decide on a set number of posts and playlists for the future, so you don’t get bombarded, and I can manage it! The music will still be available through the site so feel free to dip in and out as the mood catches you.

I’d love for you to get involved by sending your playlists either with a set theme, freestyle theme of your own, or taking a previous freestyle theme and giving us your version of that.

It also would be great if at some point people fancied taking part in a cd exchange, a LeedsPlaylist party, a LeedsPlaylist battle  – online or even live! But for now, baby steps, I’m making this up as I go along….

BIG THANKS to Rachel Jeffcoat for making the blog work, Phil Wall for the fantastic artwork, James Brenkley for great advice and EVERYONE who has made a playlist and helped spread the word! You bring me joy.

Happy listening!

Wend aka @Wandapops

One thought on “Wanna be startin’ somethin’

Leave a Reply

