Colour by @Wandapops

It’s quite scary going first  but only fair I guess… here goes!

My colour playlist is full of tracks that are all at least 20 years old, just to prove how cool and relevant I am, and give everyone else an easy act to follow 🙂

There are a few reasons behind my choices: White Lines – the most important anti drugs message after Grange Hill’s ‘Just Say No’. Oh Yeah  – fun to sing along to and it features in great eighties films such as Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, and The Secret of my Success. Purple Haze was what everyone called an old drunk lady in my local pub when I was growing up because she wore a purple coat and her name was Hazel – ace nickname! (RIP Purple Haze). Every Little Step – just an absolute TUNE! And the video is a wonder to behold. Cream – ‘You’re filthy cute and baby you know it’   Yes YOU.  I nearly put Black Betty on here but I chucked it out for the lesser heard soft rock tune Black Velvet. It reminds me of the summer of 1990 when my sister and I made up a dance to this song whilst camping in Cornwall. We played it so many times while we practised it drove everyone crazy. I’m pretty sure the dog in the tent next door knew the routine off by heart by time we were done. I can still remember it. I’m doing it RIGHT NOW in fact. Finishing with a feel good number  – Twist and Shout by Deacon Blue. It mentions a lot of colours too, which brings us full circle, back to the theme. Hope you enjoy it!

Listen on Spotify

YouTube playlist – for those of you without spotify or who like the visuals too

Tracklistings:

  1. White Lines (Don’t Do It) – Grandmaster Flash & Melle Mel
  2. Oh Yeah – Yello
  3. Rip It Up – Orange Juice
  4. Little Green Bag – George Baker Selection
  5. Purple Haze – The Jimi Hendrix Experience
  6. Every Little Step – Bobby Brown
  7. Cream – Prince & The New Power Generation
  8. Fade To Grey – Visage
  9. Black Velvet – Alannah Myles
  10. Twist And Shout – Deacon Blue

Follow @Wandapops

3 thoughts on “Colour by @Wandapops

  1. White Lines (Don’t Do It) is seriously one of my all time faves. I bought it on 7″ when I was 13 having no clue what it was about. Wish I still had it! This is a fab, fun list.

  2. Mucho impressedo! One thing with playlists that is hard to do well and often not considered carefully enough is how the songs flow into each other, and how the mood of the whole thing is transported as the songs play out. This is something you are clearly a master of.

    Bravo

  3. Loved listening to this tonight over dinner. Z Rhys and I were all bopping along however… As much as i’d love to score you 15 out of 10* I can not. To be fair I am using a system of my own inventing and everybody will score differently even using the same system. I have awarded 1 point to songs that I like, 0 points for songs I don’t like and 1.5 for a really banging tune.

    Z wanted to dock points for the theme being in the artists name not the song title but I thought that was too harsh.

    Score as follows:

    1.1
    2.1
    3.1
    4.1
    5.1
    6.0
    7.0
    8.1.5
    9.1
    10.1

    Over all I’d score Colour by @wandapops 8.5/10

    E

Leave a Reply

